New Jersey has several new employment related laws that go into effect on January 1, 2014.
- The New Jersey minimum wage moves to $8.25 beginning January 1st, and annually thereafter it will be automatically adjusted according to inflation.
- Employer Access to Social Media is limited by Bill A2878, the "Facebook Privacy Bill." Employers and their agents may not require a current or prospective employee to provide user name and passwords to personal social media accounts. It is important that LinkedIn is not included in the definition of a "personal" account.
- Lastly, Jersey City has enacted a paid sick leave bill that does include household employers. Household employees will accrue 1 hour of sick leave for every 30 hours of work, up to a maximum of 40 hours per year.
If you employ a nanny, maid, housekeeper, senior caregiver or other domestic service worker in New Jersey, you must keep accurate and contemporaneous time and attendance records. This is an EMPLOYER responsibility. These records must be retained and available for inspection for a period of 3 years.